MDX functions based on time

A bit of MDX to start the week, it feels good?

As you have already seen in the title, the purpose of this article is to share with you some time-based MDX functions that are very useful.

Time is an essential component for business analysis. Analysts interpret the state of the business now, often compared to what it was in the past, in order to understand what it might be in the future.

To support this, Analysis Services provides a number of time-based MDX functions, here are some of them:

  • PeriodsToDate
PeriodsToDate ([Level, [Member]])
Function PeriodsToDate returns all members at the beginning of a period given up to a specified member including the concerned member. The Level argument identifies the level of the hierarchy representing the period over which the returned set must extend, while the Member argument identifies the final element of the set.

Take the following example:

SELECT {([Measures]. [Reseller Sales Amount]} ON COLUMNS, {PeriodsToDate ([Date]. [Calendar]. [Calendar Year], [Date]. [Calendar]. [Month]. [April 2002]) } ON ROWS FROM [AdventureWorksCube];

result:

In the previous query, you used the function PeriodsToDate to retrieve every month in the 2002 year before and including the month of April.

If you want to calculate a cumulative value for all the periods for which data is recorded, you can replace the level argument with the ALL.

PeriodsToDate ([Date]. [Calendar]. [(All)], [Date]. [Calendar] .CurrentMmember)
  • LastPeriods
LastPeriods (n [, Member])

Function LastPeriods returns a set of n members before or after (and including) a specified member of a time hierarchy. If a positive n value is provided, the returned set includes the members preceding the member of interest. If a negative n value is provided, the returned set includes members following the member of interest.

An example to understand well:

SELECT {([Measures]. [Reseller Sales Amount])} ON COLUMNS, {LastPeriods (3, [Date]. [Calendar]. [Month]. [January 2002])} ON ROWS FROM [AdventureWorksCube];

result:

In this query, you used the function LastPeriods to retrieve the three-month period before and including January 2002. Analysis Services starts with the specified member, January2002, and treats this as the 1 period. This leaves n-1 or n-2 members to return as a whole. Because n is a positive number, Analysis Services retrieves the two previous siblings from the January 2002 member to complete the set (November 2001 and December 2001).

  • ParallelPeriod
ParallelPeriod ([Level [, n [, Member]]])

To understand ParallelPeriodconsider the month of April 2003. this month is the fourth month of the 2003 calendar year. In a business strongly influenced by the annual cycle, you could compare the values ​​for this month to those for the month of April in a previous year.

  1. The first argument of the function identifies the level of the time hierarchy through which you want to identify the parallel period member. If no level is identified, the parent level of the current time element is assumed.
  2. The second argument of the function identifies how far from the identified level you want to go to retrieve the parallel member. If no value is provided, a value of 1 is assumed, indicating the previous period.
  3. The final argument of the function identifies the member for which the parallel period is to be determined. The position of this member relative to its ancestor in the specified level determines the element extracted from the historical period. If no members are identified, the current time element is assumed.

An example to illustrate this:

WITH MEMBER [Measures]. [X] AS ParallelPeriod ([Date]. [Calendar]. [Calendar Year], 1, [Date]. [Calendar] .CurrentMember) .Name SELECT {([Measures]. [Reseller Sales Amount ], ([Measures]. [X])} ON COLUMNS, {Descendants ([Date]. [Calendar]. [Calendar Year]. [CY 2003], [Date]. [Calendar]. [Month], SELF )} ON ROWS FROM [AdventureWorksCube];

result:

In the previous query, the function ParallelPeriod identifies the parallel period of the previous year for each month of the 2003 calendar year.

Function ParallelPeriod returns a member and the name of that member is returned with a new calculated member to verify that the appropriate member is identified.

  • Conclusion:

Using time-based MDX functions against calendar hierarchies gives the appearance of an awareness of time. However, most time-based functions simply exploit the basic structure of the hierarchy to return the required set or member.

 

 

One thought on "MDX functions based on time"

  1. I love it when I come together
    ideas. Great blog, continue the good work!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address Will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Fonctions MDX basées sur le temps

Un peu de MDX pour commencer la semaine, ça fait du bien non ?!!

Comme vous l’avez déjà vu dans le titre, le but de cet article est de partager avec vous quelques fonctions MDX basées sur le temps et qui sont très utiles.

Le temps est un composant essentiel pour l’analyse du Business. Les analystes interprètent l’état de l’entreprise maintenant, souvent par rapport à ce qu’elle était dans le passé, dans le but de comprendre ce qu’il pourrait être à l’avenir.

Pour supporter ça, Analysis services fournit un certain nombre de fonctions MDX basées sur le temps, voici quelques-unes :

  • PeriodsToDate
PeriodsToDate( [Level, [Member]] )
La fonction PeriodsToDate renvoie l’ensemble des membres du début d’une période donnée jusqu’à un membre spécifié y compris le membre concerné. L’argument Level identifie le niveau de la hiérarchie représentant la période sur laquelle l’ensemble retourné doit s’étendre, tandis que l’argument Member identifie l’élément final de l’ensemble.

Prenons l’exemple suivant :

SELECT
    {([Measures].[Reseller Sales Amount])} ON COLUMNS,
    {
        PeriodsToDate(
            [Date].[Calendar].[Calendar Year],
            [Date].[Calendar].[Month].[April 2002]
            )
        } ON ROWS
FROM [AdventureWorksCube]
;

Résultat :

Dans la requête précédente, vous avez utilisé la fonction PeriodsToDate pour récupérer tous les mois dans l’année 2002 avant et y compris le mois d’avril.

Si vous souhaitez calculer une valeur cumulative pour toutes les périodes pour lesquelles des données sont enregistrées, vous pouvez remplacer l’argument level par le ALL.

PeriodsToDate(
        [Date].[Calendar].[(All)],
        [Date].[Calendar].CurrentMmember
)
  • LastPeriods
LastPeriods( n [, Member] )

La fonction LastPeriods renvoie un ensemble de n membres avant ou après (et incluant) un membre spécifié d’une hiérarchie temps. Si une valeur n positive est fournie, l’ensemble retourné inclut les membres précédant le membre d’intérêt. Si une valeur n négative est fournie, l’ensemble renvoyé inclut les membres suivant le membre d’intérêt.

Un exemple pour bien comprendre :

SELECT
    {([Measures].[Reseller Sales Amount])} ON COLUMNS,
    {
        LastPeriods(
            3,
            [Date].[Calendar].[Month].[January 2002]
            )
        } ON ROWS
FROM [AdventureWorksCube]
;

Résultat :

Dans cette requête, vous avez utilisé la fonction LastPeriods pour récupérer la période de trois mois précédant et incluant January 2002. Analysis services commence avec le membre spécifié, January2002 et traite cela comme période 1. Cela laisse n-1 ou n-2 membres à retourner Dans l’ensemble. Parceque n est un nombre positif, Analysis services récupère les deux frères et sœurs précédents du membre de January 2002 pour compléter l’ensemble (Novembre 2001 et Décembre 2001).

  • ParallelPeriod
ParallelPeriod( [Level [,n [, Member]]] )

Pour comprendre ParallelPeriod, considérons le mois d’avril 2003. ce mois est le quatrième mois de l’année civile 2003. Dans une entreprise fortement influencée par le cycle annuel, vous pourriez comparer les valeurs pour ce mois à celles pour le mois d’avril dans un précédent an.

  1. Le premier argument de la fonction identifie le niveau de la hiérarchie temps à travers laquelle vous souhaitez identifier le membre de période parallèle. Si aucun niveau n’est identifié, le niveau parent de l’élément de temps actuel est supposé.
  2. Le second argument de la fonction identifie à quelle distance du niveau identifié que vous souhaitez aller récupérer le membre parallèle. Si aucune valeur n’est fournie, une valeur de 1 est supposée, indiquant la période précédente.
  3. L’argument final de la fonction identifie le membre pour lequel la période parallèle doit être déterminée. La position de ce membre par rapport à son ancêtre dans le niveau spécifié détermine l’élément extrait de la période historique. Si aucun membre n’est identifié, l’élément de temps actuel est supposé.

Un exemple pour illustrer ça :

WITH
MEMBER [Measures].[x] AS
    ParallelPeriod(
        [Date].[Calendar].[Calendar Year],
        1,
        [Date].[Calendar].CurrentMember
        ).Name
SELECT
    {
        ([Measures].[Reseller Sales Amount]),
        ([Measures].[x])
        } ON COLUMNS,
    {
        Descendants(
            [Date].[Calendar].[Calendar Year].[CY 2003],
            [Date].[Calendar].[Month],
            SELF
            )
         } ON ROWS
FROM [AdventureWorksCube]
;

Résultat :

Dans la requête précédente, la fonction ParallelPeriod permet d’identifier la période parallèle de l’année précédente pour chaque mois de l’année civile 2003.

La fonction ParallelPeriod renvoie un membre et le nom de ce membre est renvoyé avec un nouveau membre calculé pour vérifier que le membre approprié est identifié.

  • Conclusion :

L’utilisation des fonctions MDX basées sur le temps par rapport aux hiérarchies de calendrier, donnent l’apparence d’une prise de conscience du temps. Cependant, la plupart des fonctions basées sur le temps exploitent simplement la structure de base de la hiérarchie pour renvoyer l’ensemble ou le membre requis.

 

 

Une réflexion au sujet de « Fonctions MDX basées sur le temps »

  1. I love it when individuals come together and share
    ideas. Great blog, continue the good work!

    Répondre

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *