Feedback (MCSE BI)

Last week, I passed my final exam to acquire the MCSE BI, I want to share with you this feedback especially on my preparation for all exams, it is not a strict guideline of course, but it just what was best for me.

The MCSE certification consists of passing 5 separate exams: the first 3 give you the MCSA SQL Server certification:

MCSA exams are the same for everyone; it does not matter if you are going for the MCSE - Business Intelligence or MCSE - DATA Platform.

o 70-461: Microsoft SQL Server Querying 2012 / 2014

Anyone working with SQL Server, whether a DBA, a database developer, or a BI developer, should know at least the basics of T-SQL. So this review should not be too difficult for most people.

To prepare myself, I started with the formation of MVA (https://mva.microsoft.com/en-US/training-courses/querying-microsoft-sql-server-2012-databases-jump-start-8241). I can absolutely recommend this training to everyone to get a good level with the windowing features in SQL Server. Next, I read MSDN articles on new T-SQL features like TRY_PARSE, LANCER and LAG / LEAD. MSDN gives a good overview.

The exam may contain questions that require you to write code.

I passed the exam the first time, but I have to admit that code writing issues are more difficult than it seems when you do not have MSDN pages available to check your syntax.

o 70-462: Microsoft SQL Server Administering 2012 / 2014 Databases

This is the exam I feared the most. I am certainly not DBA. I took my time preparing for the exam, following the MVA training (https://mva.microsoft.com/en-US/training-courses/administering-microsoft-sql-server-2012-jump-start-8259): I set up a virtual environment with VMWare to do all the DBA stuff, such as mirroring, database replication, back-ups ... The training does not go very far in the details, Prepare to do some research.

And as I was afraid of not passing this exam I passed it with the second shot offer just in case, but fortunately I did it on the first try, but my score was really not impressive. But hey, what are you waiting for from a BI guy.

o 70-463: Implementing a Data Warehouse with Microsoft SQL Server 2012 / 2014

It deals mainly with SSIS, but also has some sections on DQS, MDS and Dimensional Modeling. I started the preparation with MVA (https://mva.microsoft.com/en-US/training-courses/implementing-a-data-warehouse-with-sql-server-jump-start-8257), I read The book « Data Warehouse Toolkit Ralph Kimball. Any serious BI professional should read this book. This book gives you all the details you need about dimensional modeling: star schemas, slowly changing dimensions ... Microsoft relies heavily on the Kimball approach, in the design of the data warehouse, but also in Analysis Services Multidimensional. As for data quality services (DQS), I was surprised because I have never done it and I answered on 100% of questions, luck !! The last item on the list for this exam is Master Data Services (MDS). Since it only takes a small percentage of the questions, I have not put a lot of research on this product. The exam itself went pretty well, although I struggled a bit with repeated response choices because it was the first time I saw these types of questions and took a few seconds before I realized this was happening.

o 70-466: Implementing Data Models and Reports with Microsoft SQL Server

After a few days of well-deserved "non-studying for the exams", I decided to pick up the pace again and start preparing for the 70-466 exam.

I was between projects, so it was an excellent time to review with these projects. I started as always with MVA (https://mva.microsoft.com/en-US/training-courses/implementing-data-models-reports-with-microsoft-sql-server-8895), after I read the excellent book « Microsoft SQL Server 2012 Analysis Services: The BISM Tabular Model By the SSAS Maestros Alberto Ferrari, who comes to a huge 656 pages. It's a great book and it will teach you everything you need to know about tabular and DAX models, but in reality it's far too detailed for exam preparation. But hey, a little too much knowledge does not hurt anyone, right? So, if you just want to get up to speed with tabular SSAS you can skip a few chapters, such as Advanced DAX for example. I delved deeper into the SSAS and SSRS administration by reading relevant blogs and MSDN articles, such as Reporting Services Execution and Trace Logging. The exam went pretty well on the first try and so I had only one exam for MCSE certification!

o 70-467: Business Intelligence Designing Solutions with Microsoft SQL Server

The exam was really interesting to study. What makes it so interesting is that everything is together for this review. You need to know about SSIS, SSAS (Multidimensional and Tabular), SSRS (Report Designer, Report Builder, Power View, PowerPivot, and PerformancePoint) and the integration of SharePoint to succeed. Everything just comes together.

To prepare, I took the MVA training (https://mva.microsoft.com/en-US/training-courses/designing-bi-solutions-with-microsoft-sql-server-8453) and the 20467D course: Designing Business Intelligence Solutions with Microsoft SQL Server 2012, which is a fascinating read. I revisit a few chapters on SSRS and SSAS administration and dig deeper into SharePoint integration.

The exam itself was not easy, but I managed to get through it, so now I'm the proud MCSE holder - Business Intelligence Certification!

Good luck everyone !!

7 thoughts on "Feedback (MCSE BI)"

  1. Hello Osama,
    Thank you for sharing with us your feedback experience especially at the level of certification that you have passed and validated successfully! however, I would like you to share with us also the useful links to prepare your medical and also how long it took you to get there
    Good luck

    Reply

    1. You're welcome, Yasmina.
      If not for the preparation time, I organized myself to pass a certificate per month, it's not really complicated, you just have to have the motivation and the time.
      If you are really interested in following this path, I can give you very useful links.

      Reply

  2. Thank you very much for this feedback, it helped me a lot for the preparation of my certificates.

    Reply

  3. On the 70-463 exam you indicate 'I struggled a bit with the repeated answer choices' what does it mean concretely? The same questions were repeated in different places? Thank you for the additional information.

    Reply

    1. I did not talk about questions but answers, it seemed to me that some questions had choices of repeated answers so I had a moment of doubt to choose an answer between two correct choices that mean the same thing.

      Reply

  4. Hello Osama,
    Thank you for sharing your feedback.
    I would like you to share the various useful links to prepare the certificates.
    My goal is to pass a certif in a month.

    thanks in advance
    Good luck

    Reply

    1. Hello Iheb,
      You're welcome.
      Unfortunately, this certification no longer exists, it has been replaced by the MCSE: Data management and analytics (https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/learning/mcse-data-management-analytics.aspx) and MCSA: SQL 2016 BI Development (https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/learning/mcsa-sql2016-business-intelligence-certification.aspx). For the moment I have no links to prepare these certives, I spent without preparation but as soon as I have links I will share them with you.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address Will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment is processed.

Retour d’expérience (MCSE BI)

La semaine dernière, j’ai réussi mon examen final pour acquérir la MCSE BI, je voudrai partager avec vous ce retour d’expérience surtout sur ma préparation pour tous les examens, ce n’est pas une ligne directrice stricte bien sûr, mais c’est juste ce que convenait le mieux pour moi.

La certification MCSE consiste à passer 5 examens distincts : les 3 premiers vous donnent la certification MCSA SQL Server:

Les examens MCSA sont les mêmes pour tout le monde; il n’a pas d’importance si vous allez pour le MCSE – Business Intelligence ou MCSE – DATA Platform.

o    70-461 : Querying Microsoft SQL Server 2012/2014

Toute personne travaillant avec SQL Server, que ce soit un DBA, un développeur de base de données ou un développeur BI, devrait connaître au moins les bases de T-SQL. Donc, cet examen ne devrait pas être trop difficile pour la plupart des gens.

Pour me préparer, j’ai commencé avec la formation de MVA (https://mva.microsoft.com/en-US/training-courses/querying-microsoft-sql-server-2012-databases-jump-start-8241). Je peux recommander absolument cette formation à tout le monde pour obtenir un bon niveau avec les fonctions de fenêtrage dans SQL Server. Ensuite, j’ai lu des articles MSDN sur les nouvelles fonctionnalités T-SQL, comme TRY_PARSE, LANCER et LAG / LEAD . MSDN donne un bon aperçu.

L’examen peut contenir des questions qui vous demandent d’écrire du code.

J’ai réussi l’examen du premier coup, mais je dois admettre que les questions d’écriture de code sont plus difficiles qu’il n’y paraît quand vous n’avez pas de pages MSDN disponibles pour vérifier votre syntaxe.

o    70-462 : Administering Microsoft SQL Server 2012/2014 Databases

C’est l’examen que je craignais le plus. Je ne suis certainement pas DBA. J’ai pris mon temps à me préparer à l’examen, en suivant la formation de MVA (https://mva.microsoft.com/en-US/training-courses/administering-microsoft-sql-server-2012-jump-start-8259) : j’ai mis en place un environnement virtuel avec VMWare pour faire tous les trucs de DBA, telles que la mise en miroir, base de données de réplication, en back-ups… La formation ne va pas très loin dans les détails, Préparez-vous à faire quelques recherches.

Et comme j’avais peur de ne pas réussir cet examen je l’ai passé avec l’offre second shot au cas où, mais heureusement je l’ai réussi au premier essai, mais mon score était vraiment pas impressionnant. Mais bon, qu’est-ce que vous attendez d’un gars BI.

o    70-463 : Implementing a Data Warehouse with Microsoft SQL Server 2012/2014

Il traite principalement avec SSIS, mais a aussi quelques sections sur DQS, MDS et de la modélisation dimensionnelle. J’ai commencé la préparation avec MVA (https://mva.microsoft.com/en-US/training-courses/implementing-a-data-warehouse-with-sql-server-jump-start-8257), j’ai lus Le livre « Toolkit Data Warehouse » de Ralph Kimball. Tout professionnel BI sérieux devrait lire ce livre. Ce livre vous donne tous les détails dont vous avez besoin sur la modélisation dimensionnelle: schémas en étoile, slowly changing dimensions … Microsoft repose en grande partie sur l’approche Kimball, dans la conception de l’entrepôt de données, mais aussi dans Analysis Services Multidimensional. En ce qui concerne les services de qualité des données (DQS), j’ai été étonné car je ne l’ai jamais fait et j’ai bien répondu sur 100% des questions, la chance !! Le dernier élément de la liste pour cet examen est Master Data Services (MDS). Comme il ne prend qu’un petit pourcentage des questions, je ne l’ai pas mis beaucoup de recherches sur ce produit. L’examen lui-même est plutôt bien passé, même si j’ai lutté un peu avec les choix de réponses répétées, car il a été la première fois que je vois ces types de questions et a pris quelques secondes avant que je réalise ce qui se passait.

o    70-466 : Implementing Data Models and Reports with Microsoft SQL Server

Après quelques jours de “non-étudier pour les examens” bien mérité, j’ai décidé de reprendre le rythme à nouveau et de commencer à préparer à l’examen 70-466.

J’étais entre les projets, il était donc un excellent timing pour réviser avec ces projets. J’ai commencé comme toujours avec MVA (https://mva.microsoft.com/en-US/training-courses/implementing-data-models-reports-with-microsoft-sql-server-8895), après j’ai lus l’excellent livre « Microsoft SQL Server 2012 Analysis Services: The BISM Tabular Model » par le SSAS Maestros Alberto Ferrari, qui vient à un énorme 656 pages. Il est un grand livre et il vous apprendra tout ce que vous devez savoir sur les modèles tabulaires et DAX, mais en réalité il est beaucoup trop détaillé pour la préparation aux examens. Mais bon, un peu trop de connaissances ne blessent personne, non? Donc, si vous voulez juste de se lever à la vitesse avec SSAS tabulaires vous pouvez sauter quelques chapitres, tels que DAX avancée par exemple. J’ai fouillai plus profondément dans l’administration SSAS et SSRS en lisant les blogs pertinents et articles MSDN, tels que Reporting Services Exécution et Trace Logging. L’examen est allé assez bien sur le premier essai et donc j’eu qu’un seul examen pour la certification MCSE!

o    70-467 : Designing Business Intelligence Solutions with Microsoft SQL Server

L’examen était vraiment intéressant à étudier.  Qu’est-ce qui le rend si intéressant est que tout est réuni pour cet examen. Vous devez savoir sur SSIS, SSAS (multidimensionnelle et tabulaire), SSRS (Concepteur de rapports, Report Builder, Power View, PowerPivot et PerformancePoint) et l’intégration de SharePoint pour réussir. Tout vient juste ensemble.

Pour me préparer, j’ai suivi la formation MVA (https://mva.microsoft.com/en-US/training-courses/designing-bi-solutions-with-microsoft-sql-server-8453) et le cours 20467D: Conception de solutions de Business Intelligence avec Microsoft SQL Server 2012, ce qui est une lecture fascinante. Je revis quelques chapitres sur l’administration pour SSRS et SSAS et je creusais un peu plus profondément dans l’intégration de SharePoint .

L’examen lui-même n’a pas été facile, mais je suis parvenu à passer à travers, alors maintenant je suis le fier détenteur du MCSE – Business Intelligence certification!

Bon courage à tout le monde !!

 

 

5 réflexions au sujet de « Retour d’expérience (MCSE BI) »

  1. Bonjour Oussama ,
    Merci d’avoir partager avec nous ton retour expérience surtout au niveau des certification que tu as passé et validé avec succès !! toutefois j’aimerai que tu partage avec nous aussi les liens utile pour préparer son cértif et aussi combien de temps il t’a fallu pour y arriver 😉
    Bon courage

    Répondre

    1. De rien Yasmina, c’est avec plaisir.
      Sinon pour le temps de préparation, je me suis organisé pour passer une certif par mois, ce n’est pas vraiment compliqué, il faut juste avoir la motivation et le temps.
      Si t’es vraiment intéressé pour suivre ce parcours, je peux te filer des liens très utiles.

      Répondre

  2. Merci beaucoup pour ce retour d’expérience, ça m’a beaucoup aidé pour la préparation de mes certifs.

    Répondre

  3. Sur l’examen 70-463 vous indiquez ‘j’ai lutté un peu avec les choix de réponses répétées’ que cela signifie t’il concrètement ? Les mêmes questions se répétaient à différents endroits? Merci pour le complément d’information.

    Répondre

    1. Je ne parlais pas de questions mais de réponses, il me semblait que certaines questions avaient des choix de réponses répétées alors j’ai eu un moment de doute pour choisir une réponse entre deux choix corrects qui signifient la même chose.

      Répondre

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *