Create a Time dimension with SSAS (DimTime) - Part 2

After creating our DimTime table in the 1ages part of this article, we will now make some improvements on our dimension.

From experience, I would recommend using a key PKDate int type in format yyyymmdd.

This type of key will allow you to get better performance.

This codification in yyyymmdd format should be generalized to all levels of our time axis: year, semester, quarter, month, week ... I therefore suggest that each level (year, semester, quarter, month, week, day) be made up of three distinct attributes:

  • Code
  • Date
  • Name

Read More Create a Time dimension with SSAS (DimTime) - Part 2

 

Create a Time dimension with SSAS (DimTime) - 1st part

The dimension Time (DimTime) plays a very important role in a decision-making system, its presence is obligatory in the tables of facts which characterizes a decision-making system compared to a transactional system.

In the rest of this article, we will create the table DimTime using an SSAS project wizard.

Read More Create a Time dimension with SSAS (DimTime) - 1st part

 

Slowly Changing Dimensions

Ralph introduced the concept of "slowly changing dimension (SCD)" attributes in 1996.

Slowly Changing Dimensions (SCD) - dimensions that evolve slowly over time, rather than changing the time base in the regular calendar. In the data warehouse, it is necessary to follow the changes of the attributes in the dimension in order to make the data historized. In other words, the implementation of an SCD type must allow users to assign the dimension attribute value appropriate for a given date. Example of these dimensions could be: customer, geography, employee.

Read More Slowly Changing Dimensions

Créer une Time dimension avec SSAS (DimTime) – 2ème partie

Après la création de notre table DimTime dans la 1ère partie de cet article, nous allons maintenant apporter quelques améliorations sur notre dimension.

Par expérience, je vous recommanderais d’utiliser une clé PKDate de type int au format aaaammjj.

Ce type de clé vous permettra d’obtenir de meilleurs performances.

Cette codification au format aaaammjj devra être généralisée à tous les niveaux de notre axe temps :  année, semestre, trimestre, mois, semaine…  Je vous suggère donc que chaque niveau (année, semestre, trimestre, mois, semaine, jour) soit composé de trois attributs distincts :

  • Code
  • Date
  • Nom

Lire la suite Créer une Time dimension avec SSAS (DimTime) – 2ème partie

 

Créer une Time dimension avec SSAS (DimTime) – 1ère partie

La dimension Temps (DimTime) joue un rôle très important dans un système décisionnel, sa présence est obligatoire dans les tables de faits ce qui caractérise un système décisionnel par rapport à un système transactionnel.

Dans la suite de cet article, nous allons créer la table DimTime à l’aide d’un assistant de projet SSAS.

Lire la suite Créer une Time dimension avec SSAS (DimTime) – 1ère partie

 

Slowly Changing Dimensions

Ralph a introduit le concept de « slowly changing dimension (SCD)» attributs en 1996.

Slowly Changing Dimensions (SCD) – dimensions qui évoluent lentement au fil du temps, plutôt que de changer la base de temps dans le calendrier régulier. Dans l’entrepôt de données, il est nécessaire de suivre les changements des attributs dans la dimension afin de rendre les données historisées. En d’autres termes, l’implémentation d’un type SCD doit permettre aux utilisateurs d’attribuer la valeur d’attribut de dimension appropriée pour une date donnée. Exemple de ces dimensions pourrait être : client, géographie, employé.

Lire la suite Slowly Changing Dimensions